Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

7605 Views 17 Replies Latest reply: Apr 13, 2011 10:01 AM by Andrew7000 RSS 1 2 Previous Next
kzum0411 Amateur 20 posts since
Feb 7, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 4, 2011 11:36 AM

10k in 3 weeks, can I do it?

Hi All,

This is my very first time writing on here so please excuse me if I don't get all the lingo right .  Anyway, I have been "training" to run a 10k (Illinois Marathon) race in a few weeks.  I have been training 6 days/week for 6 weeks now.  I run 3 days a week (1 day/week I lift weights after I run) and I bike the other day with 1 rest day/week.  Since where I live has been cold, I have done most of my running on a treadmilland each week I do a long run and I increase the distance by a half mile each week.  I finally got my pace under 11min/mi but on Friday, I went to a park do my long run of 5 miles.  And I couldn't do it.  I ran 3.6 miles in 40-some minutes.  I was so tired and disappointed in myself for not doing what I was supposed to do.  I ran 4.5 miles with a pace of 11:10min/mi just last week (on a treadmill) and now I can't even run a 5k with that pace outside.  Should I stop running on a treadmill and do more outside to get used to running outside? I want to run this race but I'm just not sure I can finish.  I have 3 weeks, can I do it and are there any tips to running outside vs. inside that I should do?

Thanks and sorry if this was scattered!

Illinois Marathon 10k - 04.30.2010 -01:07:42

Kirby Derby 10k- 05.14.2010 -01:00:32

Kirby Derby 5k - 05.12.2012 -34:07 (25 weeks pregnant with baby #2)