Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

8035 Views 32 Replies Latest reply: May 4, 2011 5:40 AM by njswimmom 1 2 3 Previous Next
EliNoah Amateur 13 posts since
Apr 3, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 11, 2011 5:41 AM

Any others doing C25K and taking it slow?

Hi all, I am new to running or any other sport. I am a 43 year old mom of 3 and I have never done sports of any kind. At least not since about 7th grade!  I tried C25k several years ago and failed the first day, but I have an iphone now and I can use the app to tell me when to stop and start so it is much easier.

My husband started running about 18 months ago and has fallen in love with it. He is living for races now and I began to feel left out. I decided to try the program again, especially now with the app to tell me and I don't have to think about that. I am way out of shape. Although I am not seriously over weight. (about 15 pounds or so) I have no muscle tone or stamina or will power, it seems.

But I want to complete this. I want to change my life. I want to learn to love running.

So far, I have done Week 1, 3 times (10 runs). I just felt like until I could do it and not give up, then I should not move on. I am finally in a place where I can consistently do it, but now I am scared to move on because 90 seconds seems like a lot. I plan to run the week 1 schedule one more time tonight and then on Wed. I am going to move to week 2.