Skip navigation

1614 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Apr 17, 2011 9:23 AM by BradH
TG. Legend 814 posts since
Jul 25, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 16, 2011 4:18 PM

FED re-entry rules

Let's say the catcher is being DH'ed for in the seven slot. In the fifth inning The DH goes to the mound as a relief pitcher. A sub enters the game in the starting pitcher's lineup slot to catch. The starting catcher is out of the game by the removal of the DH.  Since he started along with the DH in the seven slot can he re-enter later in the game in the seven slot? Or does removal of the DH eliminate him from returning?


Here's what actually occurred which I believe was an illegal substitution. The DH became the pitcher. The catcher is in the lineup in the seven slot being DH'ed for. The catcher was moved to the removed pitcher's slot in the lineup and continued to catch.

  • BradH Rookie 6 posts since
    May 30, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Apr 17, 2011 9:23 AM (in response to TG.)
    Re: FED re-entry rules

    The catcher can reenter, but it would have to be in the 7 slot.  The DH and the player he is DH for can never be on defense at the same time.  And no player can switch spots in the batting order.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...