During a recent game we had the following situation (and our league uses the dropped 3rd strike rule):
Top of the 6th, 2 outs, runners on 2nd and 3rd, 2-2 count on the batter.
On the next pitch the batter swung at a low pitch and missed for strike 3 and the ball gets by the catcher.
The runner from third comes running to home, the catcher instead of just throwing to first makes an attempt on the runner from third and misses the tag.
While this is going on the batter has stopped 7-8 steps down the first base line, not sure what to do i guess, then takes off.
Catcher throws to first and gets them out.
Umpire SCORES the run. Would this be the correct call since the catcher made an attempt on the base runner before the batter?
Or would it still be a "force out" at first no matter how long it took and the run should have not been counted?
And of course the winning margin was 1 run!
Since the batter-runner was retired for the final out before she legally reached first base, then the run should not count. The fact that a runner scored on a play at home has no bearing on the fact that the batter-runner was put out at first base before she achieved it.
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.