Skip navigation

2222 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Jul 21, 2011 10:26 AM by PirateMike1973
Tom__1718 Amateur 26 posts since
May 30, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 19, 2011 9:07 AM

Batter throws bat

What is the Little League position on a batter who throws his bat?  Is there any rule that says it is Okay for the umpire to call the batter out?

  • Frank_B Legend 1,324 posts since
    May 30, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Apr 19, 2011 10:10 AM (in response to Tom__1718)
    Re: Batter throws bat

    On the contrary....LL Inc., says a batter shall not be called "out" for throwing a bat after hitting a pitched ball.

     

    Ref: LL publication... "Make The Right Call"....page 25.

     

    There are (probably) as many different ways to handle the situation as there are the number of LL umpires on these boards; but calling a batter "out" is not one of them.

     

    Frank!

  • Lou_B Community Moderator 1,319 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    2. Apr 20, 2011 12:24 PM (in response to Tom__1718)
    Re: Batter throws bat

    Rule 6.05 through 6.07 cover the situations where a batter is Out.

    There's nothing there about throwing the bat.

    It's NOT an Out and the Umpire can't use 9.01(c) to call it one.

     

    The Umpire can warn/eject the player, but that's up to the Umpire.

  • PirateMike1973 Amateur 14 posts since
    Jul 11, 2011
    Currently Being Moderated
    4. Jul 20, 2011 11:32 AM (in response to Tom__1718)
    Re: Batter throws bat

    Actually had this happen in a recent All-Star tournament game, except the batter bunted the ball & more dropped his bat than threw, into fair territory nearly hitting the ball.  LL rules state that there is no real penalty for "throwing the bat" as described in several posts, but in this case of the bunted ball & bat landing in fair territory, the call is "if the PU felt the batter's intent was to interrupt or effect the play on the ball (I'm paraphrasing)" he can call the batter out.  In our case the bat did not actually hit the ball (it ended up landing 3-4 inches behind the ball) and the catcher throwing the batter out.

     

    For the throwing of the bat, I agree with a previous posts, that at the least a warning from the PU is in order/appropriate.

  • Lou_B Community Moderator 1,319 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    5. Jul 21, 2011 6:09 AM (in response to PirateMike1973)
    Re: Batter throws bat

    "Throwing the bat is NOT an out" - well, that's not ALWAYS true!!

    If the batter intentionally throws the bat and it interferes with a fielder, the batter is out for interference.

    Doesn't happen very often but you never know!

  • Mike_CVUA Legend 593 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    6. Jul 21, 2011 8:39 AM (in response to Lou_B)
    Re: Batter throws bat

    Lou,

     

    In fact I once call INT under those circumstances.

     

    B1 bunted and then did a chest pass of the bat right into F2's body!  No problem judging intent there!  But of course the rule was definitional INT, not something about throwing bats.

     

    Mike CVUA

  • PirateMike1973 Amateur 14 posts since
    Jul 11, 2011
    Currently Being Moderated
    7. Jul 21, 2011 10:26 AM (in response to Mike_CVUA)
    Re: Batter throws bat

    I am in total agreement with you guys.  If there is intent to INT the PU can call the batter out.  But a simple throwing of the bat, however egregious, should, at least draw a warning.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...