Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

1755 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Apr 22, 2011 9:36 AM by IronMakeover
jkowgill Rookie 4 posts since
Apr 21, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 21, 2011 8:12 AM

Finding triathlon gear online - Kona Square

Hey everyone! I just finished my first sprint triathlon last weekend. I finished in 1:28:09. Not too shabby. I did it on my old road bike so I think I could go faster.

Anyways, in our race packet one of the sponsors had a flier for their company, called Kona Square. Its at: http://konasquare.com

They said I could list my bike there for free. Seems like a new company, but it looks like a safe site and its only for triathletes, so I may try to sell it there. Or maybe I'll just keep it, and buy one. Either way, I will def look for another bike, but prob a used Tri bike this time. They look so different. I didn't know they were so expensive. My bike is a $400 Schwinn from the mid 90's. I think it had cobwebs in the gears before I started training.

Just trying to plan my next move. I want to do another race. Maybe a bit faster too. This triathlon stuff is addicting! And so is looking up different types of gear. Looks like they have some other gear too. I guess my whole tri club is going to be using this site sell their gear to other tri clubs.

Does anyone have any feedback on buying tri gear or bikes online? What to look for?

Thanks!

Jim

• Joe_h1 Community Moderator 1,833 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    1. Apr 21, 2011 8:43 AM (in response to jkowgill)
    Re: Finding triathlon gear online - Kona Square

Fit is very important when buying a bike and if you don't know much about bikes and what size to get I'd suggest highly going to a good local bike shop and they can set up w/ a bike that fits you and your budget.  getting a good deal online might now workout if you buy the completely wrong size bike.

goals for 2011:

break 19minutes for 5k

break 2:42 for olympic triathlon probably Anthracite olympic