Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

5180 Views 18 Replies Latest reply: Jun 6, 2011 8:41 PM by caniseetoo RSS 1 2 Previous Next
caniseetoo Amateur 34 posts since
Mar 29, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 22, 2011 5:09 AM

Running with Plantar Fasciitis?

Does anyone run with plantar fasciitis?  I am training for a 10 mile run on May 1st and after my long run yesterday the bottom of my heel began to hurt.  I can't begin to imagine that I can not compete in the race I have been training for for three months.  I have been icing and stretching the foot and I will call the foot doctor today to make an appointment, but I am afraid he will tell me not to run and I really don't want to hear that!  So, I am writing for a glimmer of hope here.  I know that the only "cure" is rest, but I was wondering if the running will make it worse? and if I can continue to train for my race next Sunday or will I have to *sob*, *gulp* bow out. 

Any and all advice is welcome, even if it's "not what I want to hear".  Thank you!  Ruth

• Surfing_Vol Legend 848 posts since
    Nov 6, 2007
    1. Apr 22, 2011 5:40 AM (in response to caniseetoo)
    Re: Running with Plantar Fasciitis?

Thank goodness, no, but I've had it before.  Hand massage of the plantar fascia seemed to really work.  Dig your thumbs in and work on manipulating the tissue.

You're smart going to see an expert, but PLEASE make sure that you see a running expert.  My experience is that doctors, PAs, PTs, etc. who are runners or triathletes give significantly different advice than those who aren't.