Skip navigation

3467 Views 10 Replies Latest reply: May 9, 2011 9:15 AM by BT.ROB RSS
KevinDouglas Amateur 15 posts since
Jul 30, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 30, 2011 6:07 PM

Swim Temp & Wetsuit Question

Hi everyone, i'm new to the sport of triathlon this year & completed my first sprint in April. Since I'm not a great swimmer, I did a tri with a pool swim. Now that I've done it, I'm ready to try open water & have registered for 2 more: the Patanella Flat as a Pancake Triathlon (Raritan Bay, Staten Island) & the Niantic Bay Triathlon (Niantic Bay, CT).

So my question is around wetsuits. I figure the water temp for the Pancake Tri (june 5th) will warrant a wetsuit, so I want to get one, but I'm leery of ordering online for fit issues & am not sure how to go about this.

Should I get a sleeveless or will I be too cold? If I get a fullsuit, will it be too hot for the Niatntic Tri in august?

If I order online, what are the odds of the suit actually fitting? Are there wetsuit retailers near Philadelphia PA? (I couldn't find any)

Any advice on going about the purchase would be helpful. I've read the info on active.com about wetsuits (http://www.active.com/triathlon/Articles/Characteristics_of_good_triathlon_wetsuits.htm), but I'm not sure it answered all my questions.

Also, is there a site to go to that keeps historic water temps? I feel like thats good info when prepping for a tri/figuring out what kind of suit to get, but I haven't been able to find these records.

Thanks for any help, I appreciate it!

Kevin

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Race Results: http://athlinks.com/racer/107134594

• Moriates Legend 297 posts since
    Jul 19, 2008
    1. May 2, 2011 1:10 PM (in response to KevinDouglas)
    Re: Swim Temp & Wetsuit Question

Plain and simple.  I full is always faster and better to swim with in any condition unless it does not fit your body.