B1 is taken out of the game for a pinch runner. (Not the pitcher or catcher, so no courtesy runner). She later returns to bat and receives a walk. She was never reported as a re-entry. Umpire rules B1 out and also DQs her as an illegal substitution. After the game ends, B1s coach protests the game saying that B1 should have been out, but should not have been DQd.
Q1: What's the correct call?
Q2: Can the protest be filed after the game?
ASA and Fed if they are different please.
The umpire made a mistake in this instance. B1 is not an illegal subs she was an unreported sub. In the case of an unreported sub, the coach and player are given a warning. If another unreported sub takes place during the game, thats where ASA & Fed rules differ. Either the player or the coach is restricted to the dugout (just as good as tossed lol). An illegal sub is a sub who had no proper reentry into that position in the lineup. But in this case she had legal entry into that position she was just reported.
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.