Skip navigation

834 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Feb 23, 2012 1:00 PM by Skittles_Softball RSS
Team_Manager8 Rookie 1 posts since
Aug 21, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

May 13, 2011 9:02 PM

Re-entry

B1 is taken out of the game for a pinch runner.  (Not the pitcher or catcher, so no courtesy runner).  She later returns to bat and receives a walk.  She was never reported as a re-entry.  Umpire rules B1 out and also DQs her as an illegal substitution.  After the game ends, B1s coach protests the game saying that B1 should have been out, but should not have been DQd.

Q1: What's the correct call?

Q2: Can the protest be filed after the game?

 

ASA and Fed if they are different please.

  • Skittles_Softball Pro 83 posts since
    Nov 25, 2003
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Feb 23, 2012 1:00 PM (in response to Team_Manager8)
    Re-entry

    The umpire made a mistake in this instance. B1 is not an illegal subs she was an unreported sub. In the case of an unreported sub, the coach and player are given a warning. If another unreported sub takes place during the game, thats where ASA & Fed rules differ. Either the player or the coach is restricted to the dugout (just as good as tossed lol). An illegal sub is a sub who had no proper reentry into that position in the lineup. But in this case she had legal entry into that position she was just reported.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 7 points