F4 playing deep, R1 on first. BR hits a slow ground ball. F4 charges in and collides with R1 with both in motion. I called it incidental contact since in my judgment, both fielder and runner were in motion and just collided. The other umpire said I should have called interference. Who's right?
Who's right? Not you. A defensive player fielding a batted ball has the protection and intent is not required by the runner. Dead ball the runner is out. If F4 was not protected by you (as another defensive player fileded the ball) than obstruction should be called. This has to be one or the other.