Skip navigation

5769 Views 16 Replies Latest reply: Mar 10, 2009 7:22 PM by Bhusn RSS 1 2 Previous Next
WaterDog66 Amateur 39 posts since
Jul 9, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 22, 2005 9:12 AM

FLOOD (In My Eyes): Leaky Goggles

I have been training for about 6 months for an Olympic Distance Triathlon and I swim 1600M 4 to 5 days a week as part of my training.

I recently started to experience something very strange.

I can no longer keep my goggles from leaking water. I have tried several different brands of goggles, all of which used to work great. (I have had the best luck with Tyr in the past)

I have lost some weight as the result of my training and my face is much less fleshy. That is the only thing I can think of that would cause this.

Any ideas on how to solve this problem? (Some sort of product to use or a goggle recommendation)

• jkenny5150 Legend 252 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    1. Aug 25, 2005 6:50 AM (in response to WaterDog66)
    Re: FLOOD (In My Eyes): Leaky Goggles

Keep trying new brands.  There are goggles made for faces of all sizes and shapes.  Keep experimenting and one of them is bound to work.

• triruth Pro 174 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    2. Aug 25, 2005 9:18 AM (in response to WaterDog66)

When I want to make sure that absolutely no water gets in my goggles I use Aquasphere Caiman goggles. They have big silicone seals that seal tightly. Also, if you've lost weight, you may need a different size goggle, or at least a different size nose bridge.

• aqua baby Rookie 7 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    3. Aug 31, 2005 11:39 AM (in response to WaterDog66)

i know how you feel... speed sockets by speedo are my favourite for training and racing. speedo is a great brand for all swim gear. try them and let me know they are the bomb

• Induna Rookie 1 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007
    4. Sep 6, 2005 7:50 AM (in response to WaterDog66)

agreed - speed sockets by speedo after many tries and dollars..

• Bonnie Spivey Rookie 5 posts since