If fielder was in foul territory its a foul ball. If fielder was in fair territory it would depend on where the runners were at the time of the ball going OOP. One base award from the last base they or he/she acquired. TM P.S. Where in NC? I recently moved from there. Cornelius/Huntersville areas.
If you judge that the fielder did NOT add impetus to the ball, it's a 2-base award from TOP.
If you rule that he did, it's 2 bases OOP from "TOT"--the "throw" being the addition of the impetus.
Sounds to me like it's a bad luck bounce, so I would rule 2 bases from TOP.
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.