Skip navigation

1691 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Oct 14, 2005 4:03 PM by triruth RSS
helminger Amateur 17 posts since
Jul 9, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Oct 14, 2005 4:01 PM

training regimen for ironman for complete beginner

i'm signed up for my first ironman (and triathlon for that matter) and it takes place in sept '06. my biking is fine. i'm confident i can bring my running up to speed to get me through. my swim is horrible though. i've been in the pool now for 2-3 months, and i don't feel like i'm making the progress i should be.

currently, i do anywhere from 800-1200 yards in increments of 100 yards. i've only tried going farther than 100 yards once and it was ok, but anything beyond that feel like it'll be impossible. my form feels efficient and like i'm not wasting energy. it takes me 17-19 strokes to travel a length of the pool and i take a breath every five strokes. i don't kick as hard as i could, but i feel i should train this way because that's how i plan to do it in the ironman. i think my biggest problem is thinking too much, because when i start thinking in the water, my breathing gets out of whack. it feels like i don't exhale my entire breath either. after awhile, it starts to take its toll.

any suggestions? i'm not sure if i should be doing long, slow training, or focusing on breaking things up - mixing up long and slow with fast and intense.

alright, i'll leave it at that. thanks for reading.

• sladekos Amateur 7 posts since
    Jul 9, 2007

As for a practice, do a search in here - there are pages online that other topics have linked to that have workouts.

Here are some pointers on your swimming:

Breath every three.

I hardly kick as well (I turn it on depending on the distance of the event), but you have to (at least) kick enough to keep your hips up. You "should" have a six-beat kick.