I tried this on the OBR board, but not a single reply. So, I will try here.
Under OBR: "When a catcher and batter-runner going to first base have contact when the catcher is fielding the ball, there is generally no violation and nothing should be called."
Is there an equivalent rule or interp under FED, and if so, can someone point me to it?
I could not find this interpretation in the NFHS Rules Book or the NFHS Case Book. Unfortunately Federated rules are not as popular as OBR so there seems to be less material avalabile covering interpretations. I would say that Childress Baseball Rules Differences would be the best resource to cover this, but I will not have access to my copy until this weekend.
Hi BHanlon - thanks for answering. I have a 2008 BRD and looked it up; it basically says treat it the same as NCAA, which is very similar to OBR. Here is what BRD says: "If the BR and the catcher fielding the ball make contact, it is neither interference nor obstruction unless 'either player attempts to alter the play' (7-11f Ex4)"
I was looking for something specific in FED that specifies this rule. So far, the BRD is the best reference I have found, but would prefer something more direct from a FED publication.