Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

4800 Views 25 Replies Latest reply: Jun 14, 2011 7:00 PM by sugarrunner 1 2 Previous Next
CurvieRunnings Amateur 9 posts since
May 28, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 5, 2011 8:39 PM

Ready to move 285lbs of the couch and take it around the block. Any tips?

I'm new to the active.com family here. I've been browsing websites trying to find a program to get become more active. I've decided to re-start the c25k program. I started it previously and just got defeated bc of the pain. I know I'm a wuss but I need to get past this. This running experience is for physical and emotional health. I'm looking for a sense of accomplishment in knowing that I deserve to be healthy and that I can do this. I'm a big girl but have always secretly dreamed of running in marathons or distances and enjoying it.

I've downloaded a few different podcasts and I think I've finally found a few I like so I can change it up throughout the week.

I guess I'm looking for any tips or advice on how to motivate yourself to keep going. I apologize if I seem needy but I see success stories all the time, but few go into how they really overcome the voice in your head that says "there's no way a person 15 lbs away from 300lbs is gonna be running anywhere"

Thank you all in advance!

• Kath_e Rookie 8 posts since
    May 7, 2008