Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1726 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Jun 6, 2011 12:31 PM by StickingToIt
Sfdff20 Rookie 2 posts since
Nov 9, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 6, 2011 6:42 AM

New, overweight and determined!

Hello all!!

I am new to the running scene and have gotten through 3 days of the C25K program and I am determined to finish it out. Just gets tough carrying around the extra 40+lbs of dead weight. I am 30 and while not the most athletic or active person, I have just come to realize that carrying all this weight is doing nothing more than commiting me to an early departure (if you catch my drift). So seeing there are others that seem to be in the same boat but have taken steps to better their lives inside and out which is awesome!! Hopefully with a little luck, a lot of determination, and of course commitment to change I am sure I will be there too!!

• Alder2011 Legend 203 posts since
    Apr 8, 2011
    1. Jun 6, 2011 7:52 AM (in response to Sfdff20)
    Re: New, overweight and determined!

You can do it.  We are all in the same boat, more or less, and if I can do it, so can you.  Just go at your own pace and take your time and the weight will start to come off, and your breathing will get easier, and the runs will get longer.  I am in Week 8 now and I can't believe the results.  Good luck and keep us posted.

Simon

Race Results:

2011 Fun Fourth 2.2 Mile Run : (22:08)

Beat The Heat 5K : (33:14) "The Bar Is Set"

Upcoming Tentative Plans:

No Race plans.  Just running for now.

My Running Blog:

http://joggingproud.wordpress.com/

My Virtual Life