Skip navigation

5121 Views 11 Replies Latest reply: Jun 26, 2011 6:41 PM by 23AirJordan RSS
ScariestGlobe Rookie 5 posts since
Jun 21, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 21, 2011 7:10 PM

Didn't play High School basketball?

I'm seventeen years old and I just finished high school. I started playingbasketball my junior year and haven't stopped since. I've gotten really good. I was a football player my whole life and I switched to basketball a little late so I didn't play it in high school. Anyone have any advice on how to get to college basketball without being scouted? any advice on how to get my name out there? Thank a lot .

• squareupnow Amateur 30 posts since
    Jun 9, 2011
    1. Jun 21, 2011 8:02 PM (in response to ScariestGlobe)
    Re: Didn't play High School basketball?

The best thing you can do is try to get in front of a coach for a workout sometime in July.  This is the recruiting period for most colleges and they can evaluate you and you can go from there.  If you start local you can pick the colleges around you and find out when they play and just show up at the gym untill the coaches let you play.  You have no game film to send so you will need to really commit to making a few trips to go play for some schools.  Once you get in front of them and you perform they will either have a spot for you or not.  If a scholarship is generated then HOORAYYYY but if one is not then you will need to go for a Walk On position.  This is a NON Scholarship situation where you would be on the team but pay your own way to school.  I have seen pleanty of players start out as a Walk On and end up with Full Scholarships after 1 year.