Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

752 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Jul 18, 2011 3:35 PM by ALDEA MARIE RSS
fish4funlady Rookie 4 posts since
Jul 17, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 17, 2011 12:51 PM

All these 5's mean something

Hello all - newbie here. I'll be 55 this week, and as I take stock I see I'm 5'5" tall and 55 lbs. over weight.  Whoa, all these 5's! So I've decided to add another 5...this time a goal to run a 5K. Now, all these years, me 'n the DD "girls" haven't been so keen on running. My current routine included spinning class 4-5 times a month, 30-minute weight loss intervals on the  treadmill 2-3 times a week, hot yoga every now and again and strength training 2-3 times a week.  I don't know why, but now seems like the right time to start running! I'm going to begin the C25K program at 6:30 in the morning. I downloaded Running Mate Media podcasts, I have a new pair of professionally fitted New Balance shoes and a well fitting sports bra and I'm ready to rock. I have several questions I'd love to get some experienced input. I'll put them out as individual questions. Thanks in advance for input and advice! Wishing us all success!

• cmtpt53 Amateur 28 posts since
    Jun 26, 2011
    1. Jul 17, 2011 3:47 PM (in response to fish4funlady)
    Re: All these 5's mean something