Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1291 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Jul 27, 2011 8:43 PM by Haselsmasher RSS
Lindamak Rookie 2 posts since
May 15, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 27, 2011 2:08 PM

How can I change my gait to land mid-foot instead of on my heels?

Hi, everyone! 

I've been walking and weight lifting for fitness since 2008-09 (quit smoking, too) and started running in late April of this year when I saw a flyer for a 5k at my local Y.  I thought, why not?  I only had about 4 weeks to train and ran it in 33:24, not bad for a newbie!  Unfortunately, I didn't stretch after the race and had a recurrence of tendonitis in my left ankle so I wasn't able to do anything for the rest of May/early June.  I've been pretty consistent about running during July (I always run outdoors on our gravel road or on pavement) and had been having problems with my toes going numb somewhere between mile 2 & 3.  I went to a running store that does video running gait analysis and found out first that my pretty running shoes were too small, not letting my toes move as they need to.  Second, I overpronate in the right leg so I needed more supportive shoes.  Lastly, I thought I was making a lot of noise on their treadmill while I was jogging at a slow pace, kind of like a stampeding herd of elephants, and sure enough, I was landing on my heels.  So now I've fixed the numb toes problem, have a good shoe for my overpronating foot and am trying to learn how to land mid-foot.  I first tried running with a shorter stride; it felt good but I was as slow as molasses.  Then I ran barefoot on a treadmil