A little backgrouind info first----for interested persons.
Each LL post-regular-season play our District runs a Special Games Tournament designed to raise money for kids with cancer. "The Jimmy Fund" in conjunction with the Dana-Farber Institute of Boston where kids with cancer are treated.
Last year we raised a high of $24,000.00; this year our target is $30,000.00 Raised mostly with the initiative of the players themselves.
[Some other Massachusetts districts do the same also]
We feature a 9-year level; 10-year old; level; 11 year old level, and a 12 year old level---to determine a champion at each level.
Players rostered on these teams are (only) players who were NOT chosen to play on any level of the Williamsport T-Play.
LL regular season rules are used.
Yesterday we held a final championship games for all levels at the same venue starting @ 10:00 AM---with the 9's; and followed by the 10's, 11's, & 12's.
We use service umpires.
Now for the "1st one on me"----and maybe I missed something somewhere over the years.
Had a PU, who, when a foul ball was hit, and stayed in the park, would not declare it foul uintil a defensive player touched it.
Coaches in the boxes were told NOT to touch or RETRIEVE a foul ball----a defensive player must touch it first before he would call it foul.
When I asked him after the game...his only answer was.... "I was taught that's the proper way to call a foul."
The question:-----Does anyone here know of a rule-set where that subject is covered?
Rich Ives? Others?
Isn't this just a strict interpretation of the definition of a foul ball in 2.0?
I'm assuming that he wanted the person of an infielder to touch a moving batted ball in or over foul territory. He didn't require that touch if the ball had settled in foul territory or hit a fence in it, did he?
The strict interpretation is a fence to keep coaches from making a mistake and fielding a ball that still had a chance to go fair. This is probably more likely on 90'; at least that's where I last saw it happen. My lefty son got jammed and hit a Massey shot that blooped into the third base coach's box then spun right to hit the bag. If he had run from contact, he would have beat it since no one there thought it would be fair.
Over umpiring, pure and simple. No reason for it. Sure, on a ball that could still be determined coaches of course shouldn't touch it, but a ball that is already clearly foul? No reason to make such instructions to the coaches.
To your question.....
Yes, when a foul ball, on the fly or a grounder, came to rest against a foul fence, no matter where within the inside perimeter of the field, he would invoke his foul call only after it was touched/picked up by a defensive player.
We used these umps all season.....they all did a great job----and their prices were very competitive.
In fact, two of the umpires turned their fee back to us as a donation to the cause.
BUT, the subject umpire was new to us, but not new to the assignor. Was not a rookie, and did an otherwise very good job behind the plate.
Somewhere he picked on that "foul ball business"-----and appears was never told to stop doing it.
Other plate umpires, in the other three games that day, called the foul balls as they saw them.
I wondered what the penalty would be if a coach touched a foul ball first.
But thought it best not to ask.
"No harm--no "foul"--I guess!
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.