The scene is a majors LL game. Might be at tournament play, so you expect everybody to be pretty well seasoned by now.
It's been rainy, but the field is still OK. Balls have been getting dirty, but they have been OK.
Bottom 6th, 2 outs. HT has R1 and R2. B4 has a 2-2 count. F1 throws a WP in the dirt (mud?), so now it's 3-2, and both runners advance. Tieing run now at third. But then suddenly.........
The VT manager steps out of the dugout and tosses a brand new baseball to the pitcher (his son) and says, "Johnny! Use this one!"
And then the old ball gets tossed back to the adult who walks back off the field.
Then the fun begins!
What do you do?
Managers do not put balls into play, Umpires do.
Tell the pitcher to throw the "new" ball back to the manager and tell the manager to throw the "used" ball back to you.
At that point you make sure the ball isn't "new" and throw it back to the pitcher.
Tell the manager not to do that again.
If the pitcher wants a different ball, he can throw you the "used" one and you can throw him a different one from your ball bag.
No way he's using the new ball the manager threw him!
Totally agree with Lou. If a new ball is introduced it should be by the Umpire and it should be at the top of an inning if all the other balls have been deemed insufficient. TM
Not me, as soon as the "new ball" was thrown in I'm yelling "Time" and stopping play.
At that point, me and the manager are going to have a discussion and the new ball is coming out of the game and the old ball is going back in.
If the pitcher wants a different ball, he'll get the one I give him from my bag.
"...and in that discussion, will you be charging that manager with a visit to his pitcher?"
No, and I also will not be ejecting him for coming out of the dugout without my permission.
That said, we will probably discuss those issues in our conversation !!!
I completely agree with lou B. The umps put the ball in play, and look for the little RS, or RST on them.
Now this is good stuff!!!
Better to have it and not need it, than need it and not have it!
Lou, let sleeping wulf lie. lol TM
Lou? Why Lou, TM? He has not responded to my Beowulf inclination, only STL Ump has. Why the Lou reference?
Additionally, Please let the man (Beowulf) speak for himself. I personally believe that his occassional and contrary diatribes are somewhat refreshing. Especially when, well.....you know.
Time wounds all heels.....
The OP implies that the VT Manager caught the ball and carried it back to the dugout. Wouldn't that be interference by an authorized person under 3.15 where the ball would be dead immediately when touched and no runners may advance? There doesn't seem to be an advancing of runners penalty for that interference. If the pitcher had thrown the ball directly out of play, such as over the fence into the bullpen or stands, then you might have an OOP situation.
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.