Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1407 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Aug 16, 2011 2:01 PM by tryingtobegraceful RSS
SadiaSalix Rookie 1 posts since
Aug 14, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 14, 2011 9:27 AM

Am I really doing this?? C25K 14/08/11

Right, I must have just gone bonkers because I've decided to start C25K today (if I leave it until tomorrow it won't get done). I'm a complete newbie so I might be doing something ridiculously wrong here. All sorts of fears running through my head -- what if I quit? Surely, I, a 200+lb Coca Cola addict, can't be running 5km in 8 weeks time? Especially as I'm moving to the city centre in a few weeks... where am I going to run? In the bus lanes, the shopping centre?? I really haven't thought this through...

(Oh, there's a big park near my new flat, I could go running there).

Anyway, I need to get fit and this suddenly seems ridiculously plausible. I must have gone barmy to be even considering this.

PS my doctor thinks it's a great idea. Everyone's a cynic! Where did I leave my bag of excuses? I must've ate them all when I ran out of crisps.

Can I have some support, guidance, motivation, encouragement? Or tough love, verbal abuse, criticism... anything that will actually make me do this? I don't have much sticking power, you see. Which is more or less why I'm fat.

• tryingtobegraceful Rookie 2 posts since
    Aug 10, 2011
    1. Aug 14, 2011 10:26 AM (in response to SadiaSalix)
    Re: Am I really doing this?? C25K 14/08/11