Skip navigation

2123 Views 8 Replies Latest reply: Aug 24, 2011 10:16 AM by Julie Ann Hackett RSS
katoka Rookie 4 posts since
Aug 23, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 23, 2011 9:33 AM

Nervous for first triathlon... need encouragement please!!

Hi all,

I'm doing my first triathlon this Sunday, the 28th (Chicago Sprint Tri) and I'm getting really nervous.  I'm concerned that my training hasn't been good enough lately.  I started training in February as I was pretty out of shape and worked my way up to the distances.  I was able to do the distances by May and got bored with the training so I haven't really run in the last two months .  The biking I have focused on so I can do 14 miles without being too fatigued.  I'm a strong swimmer with good form, but I'm nervous about being surrounded with all the other swimmers... training in a pool is so completely different that I'm not sure how to handle the swim.  Do I start in the back and to the outside so I can have my space?

And I fell off my bike on Sunday and my knee and thigh are both bruised up pretty bad so I'm a little worried about it healing in time.  I keep telling myself that if I can't run (from not training + the injury) that I can just walk the 5k, but I'd really rather not.

I guess I'm just really nervous about putting it all together with a few thousand other people.  My biking so far has been in a forest preserve and I rarely have other people biking around me so I scared I'll run into someone.  Or perhaps the bikers are more spread out then that and I have nothing to worry about?

I've studied the course on paper and some in person and I'm somewhat familiar with where the transition is, but again, putting it all together, with all the people around and the adrenaline going just makes me nervous.