Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1337 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Sep 30, 2011 7:55 PM by Debm2011 RSS
Debm2011 Legend 361 posts since
Jun 12, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 2, 2011 4:02 PM

Hip Pain - New Runner needs Advice!

I'm a relatively new runner (started in May of this year).  Since  I graduated from C25K at the end of July I have been running between 3 and 4 miles 3 times a week (working on a 10k training program).  I am conservative when it comes to increasing distance  I don't feel like I'm overtraining.  I am registered for a 5K on 9/11.  On Thursday morning I went out for a 3 mile run and  felt fine during the entire run - pretty comfy pace with lap times of 12:20, 11:40, and 11:20 - totally conversational the whole way - until I stopped running and started my 5 +/- minute cool down walk.  As soon as I started walking I felt pain on the outside of my left hip - right on top of the hip bone.  Enough to be bothersome, but not  enough to prevent me from walking.  By the time I got home (5+ minutes later) it hurt a little more so I iced it.  All throughout the day the outside/top of my hip hurt.  It wasn't a weight bearing issue, because I could stand on it without pain.  But if I walked it hurt (I was limping a bit during the day).  It hurt more when I got up after sitting for a while.  But what's really odd is if I walked sideways it didn't hurt, but if I walked straight forward it hurt.   I'd  say the pain was about a 3 (I'm also very tough when it comes to pain) I do not recall anything that happened on my run that might have caused an injury (but then again w