It has been a while that I posted a question here, and yes, I have one!
I seem to remember that a commenter on ESPN said that a runner is out when he steps back, when it is a forced play. Eh.. I mean..
It is a forced play: R1 and R2. Batter hits a grounder to F5. F5 fields the ball, R2 is somewhere between Base2 and Base3, and tries to avoid the tag by stepping into the direction of Base2; he does not leave the straight line between Base2 and Base3.
Is R2 out?
What if a fielder with the ball in possession, makes a tagging gesture with it in the direction of a forced runner, even when the fielder and runner are (very) far apart, and the runner steps back in the direction of the base he is supposed to leave?
Does this apply for all runners, also the B/R?
In my view, the R2 cannot go to the base he was forced to leave, and the stepping back in the direction of the previous base should be regarded as leaving the straight line with more than 1-meter, and thus the runner is out.
Where is this in the OBR?
I do. It comes from a stupid softball rule.
It's not an out in baseball.
In softball it the BR, before touching first base, steps back toward home it's an out. Not so between bases.
Wasn't that rule also in affect for FED baseball at some point in the 2007-2009 range? I seem to remember that it may have been in for one or two seasons while my son was in high school.
It was not a FED rule in my memory and my involvement in HS is at least 26 years. It sounds like you have guys working both softball and baseball. As far as the OP, a runner may retreat back to and including the base he started from. Now the BR may return all the way to the plate but is out when he touches the plate.
Michael S. Taylor
Nope. Not out, UNLESS:
There is a rule that for the BR (and BR only) he is out if he retreats back to the plate. For the other runners, they can retreat as far as they want.
Rich is correct. In softball, it is a form of interference if a BR takes one step back towards home plate to avoid a tag. You kill play, rule the BR out, and return all other runners to their last bases at the time of interference.
That rule, as far as I know, has never existed in baseball. Only when a BR returns all the way back to home plate would he be called out in baseball, and the ball remains live.
None of that applies on any other base, not in softball or baseball.
I seem to remember that a commenter on ESPN said that a runner is out when he steps back, when it is a forced play.
Never ever, ever, ever, ever, EVER listen to a commentator's explanation of a rule.
They are almost always WRONG!
There is no such rule in baseball.
ACTIVE is the leader in online event registrations from 5k running races and marathons to softball leagues and local events. ACTIVE also makes it easy to learn and prepare for all the things you love to do with expert resources, training plans and fitness calculators.