Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

962 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Sep 14, 2011 8:45 AM by Manny_A
Frank_NL Amateur 25 posts since
Feb 25, 2002
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 13, 2011 2:37 PM

out for interference?

Last Sunday, one of our runners slid into B2, while F2 threw a straight one to F6. Our runner was lying on the ground, in contact with B2. F6 was kneeling down, with his back to the (only) umpire at the plate. Blue signalled and called Out! Our runner saw the ball lying on the ground, out of sight of the umpire. F6  did not show possession of the ball. Our runner took the ball, and tossed it just one foot in the direction of the umpire, in order to show that F6 had no possession.

The umpire altered his call and changed it to Safe.

Discussion followed, but Blue stayed with his last call: Safe.

Oh, and our eh.. level is just above bush league :-))

 

What would have been the correct call? Where is it in the OBR?

  • Rich_Ives Legend 1,283 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Sep 13, 2011 3:59 PM (in response to Frank_NL)
    out for interference?

    What did he interfere with?  Nothing. So no interference.

     

    An umpire can change his call if he knows it needs changing.

     

    Safe.

     

    And maybe ejected for showing up the umpire.

  • Michael_Taylor Community Moderator 318 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    2. Sep 13, 2011 7:39 PM (in response to Rich_Ives)
    out for interference?

    Agreed Rich.





    Michael S. Taylor

  • Phillieball Pro 99 posts since
    Mar 23, 2001
    Currently Being Moderated
    3. Sep 13, 2011 10:00 PM (in response to Michael_Taylor)
    out for interference?

    Isn't it interference if a runner or a just-put-out runner picks up a live ball?

     

    What if there had been a runner at third?

  • Rich_Ives Legend 1,283 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    4. Sep 14, 2011 7:16 AM (in response to Phillieball)
    out for interference?

    It's a different situation. Recognize that.

     

    To interfere with a play there must be a play to interfere with. There was none in the OP. Therefore no interference.

     

    If there was one, then it could be interference.  But there wasn't one in the OP.

  • Manny_A Legend 841 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    5. Sep 14, 2011 8:45 AM (in response to Phillieball)
    out for interference?

    If there had been a runner on third, then the umpire would have to be convinced that the other runner prevented the defense from making a play on him. 

     

    For example, if R3 tried to advance home on the loose ball, and the other runner's picking up of the live ball prevented a fielder from making a play on that runner, then you would have interference and would call R3 out.  But if R3 is standing on third base wiping dirt off his uniform, then all you would have is "weak" interference on the other runner, and the appropriate call would simply be Time, along with a not-so-subtle warning to the runner to leave the ball alone.

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...