Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1719 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Mar 25, 2012 10:53 AM by JamesJohnsonLMT
kimc921 Pro 108 posts since
Apr 15, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 7, 2012 8:50 AM

Left atrial enlargement concerns

Recently I had an EKG done at a health fair.  It said I had Left Atrial Enlargement, and now I'm wondering if I should see a dr. for it.  Heart disease runs in my family, but I've never been obese and don't have high blood pressure...yet; sometimes my bp is borderline.  I've been running for 3 years, and my stamina doesn't seem to be where I think it should be at this point, and I'm wondering if this "potential" heart issue could be the reason.  Also, occasionally I will feel a "flutter" in my chest, and then I have the urge to cough once.  Someone I work with said they had heard  this is the heart's way of "resetting" itself.

The flutter has never once happened on a run or during any kind of exercise, it usually occurs when I'm sitting and doing nothing.  I have never fainted or been ill during or after a run.  I recently bought a heart monitor watch and even on what most people would consider an "easy" run, my hr gets up in the 90+% range.  It worries me that I may be doing more damage to my heart than good.

I'm 44, 5'8", and weigh about 150 lbs.

Any insights, experiences and advice would be most welcome.  Thank you!

"Success isn't how far you got, but the distance you traveled from where you started."

-- Steve Prefontaine

One more breath, one more step, one more mile, FINISH LINE!

"I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me."