Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

817 Views 6 Replies Latest reply: Jan 23, 2012 2:23 PM by JamesJohnsonLMT RSS
MichelleWhitlow Rookie 2 posts since
Aug 8, 2008
Currently Being Moderated

Jan 23, 2012 8:06 AM

blisters!

I have been running for about 3 years.  I have doctor prescribed inerts in my shoes due to over pronation.  I have run several 5 K and 10 K races and two 1/2 marathons.  On my last half marathon (early November), I developed huge blisters on the bottom of one foot where I have never had a problem before.  Now, every time I run more than a couple miles, I develop blisters on that one foot.  I have tried running with moleskin, double socks, vaseline feet, and various combinations, but still have a blister by 4 miles (even under the moleskin).  I was hoping to run my first marathon this year.  Any advice?  Thanks!

• BOSNPM We're Not Worthy 2,482 posts since
    Nov 20, 2007
    1. Jan 23, 2012 10:09 AM (in response to MichelleWhitlow)
    blisters!

Some people have luck with wool socks, give a pair a try.  Good luck.

• JamesJohnsonLMT Legend 1,145 posts since
    Aug 23, 2009
    2. Jan 23, 2012 11:58 AM (in response to MichelleWhitlow)
    Re: blisters!

The weird thing about blisters is that the usual approach to pad under them sometimes makes the problem worse. It depends on whether your blisters are due to excess motion, unequally distributed pressure, or contact with portions of your shoe. It could be all of these in some cases, which means the padding might be more helpful in another place. It depends on the structure of your foot.