Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1361 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Feb 7, 2012 9:26 AM by ngoetting
ngoetting Rookie 4 posts since
Nov 8, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 6, 2012 4:09 PM

extreme healthy eater attacks chocolate bowl!

Hi Everyone,

Thanks for reading. I'm a newbie and have been running for 1.5 years, recently started training for my first half marathon.

I am very into healthy eating and enjoy learning all I can about nutrition; I am also quite strict about my eating....except when it comes to the chocolate bowl at work!

About every other week, I find myself uncontrolably attacking the supply of chocolate. It almost happens like clockwork. Even when I allow a few pieces of dark chocolate a day, this will happen seemingly out of nowhere.

Is this common in newbies in training, or with runners who become too strict in their diet?

Any input would be appreciated.

Thanks and happy running!

ngrunner

• ydiez Pro 141 posts since
    Nov 7, 2011
    1. Feb 6, 2012 11:37 PM (in response to ngoetting)

First of all I am not a nutrition expert. Once said that, I assume what happens to you is normal, mainly because the exact same thing happened to me too. I used to run 2-3 times a week but recently started running 5 days to train for a half marathon. As a result I find myself eating chocolate after most long runs and even gummy bears as in-race "food". It is important to strees that I do not really like chocolate nor candy and did not usually it them before.