Skip navigation

NEED HELP?|

415 Views 0 Replies Latest reply: Feb 21, 2012 3:55 PM by SoftballSmarts
SoftballSmarts Legend 424 posts since
Oct 7, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 21, 2012 3:55 PM

Sports Parents Behaving Badly...A Performance Killer!

Hardly a week goes by without a story about a sports parent behaving badly.  It matters not what the sport is, the age of the athlete or what part of the country or world it occurs in.

Let's face it...we live in a nation obsessed with sports and, more importantly, winning. At the youth sports level winning is far more difficult to predict than at higher levels. The reason is simple...kids!  Kids are still learning the game and, as such their performance levels can vary widely from one day to the next. Therefore for parents to EXPECT a certain level of performance from their athlete or their team is a losing proposition from the onset.

As a coach I see the sports parent - child dynamic up close...and it isn't pretty sometimes. Why parents feel the need to inject themselves into their athlete's games rather than simply spectate is a question that has several answers to it. As a sports parent myself I'll admit that I used to be a borderline "behave badly" kind of dad. Although my daughter may say that I crossed the border all too frequently! Let's look at some of the answers to the question as to "why" parents act the way they do: