Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

5539 Views 17 Replies Latest reply: Mar 5, 2012 9:52 AM by rachsb RSS 1 2 Previous Next
Lochbain Amateur 36 posts since
Apr 23, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 25, 2012 10:33 AM

Dogs!

I have been running for about 3 years now. Where I live I find it easier and safer to run out in the county because there is less traffic out there. The problem that I run into is dogs. Even though they are not legally suppose to be able to roam free the owners let them. How do you all think about handling it? I carry pepper spray and have sprayed several doags in the last year or so and I also carry a full sized .45 semiauto because we've also had wolf sightings and cougurs where I run (thankfully I have not had to draw down while running yet). Any other suggestions to deal with dogs?

• Jasko123 Legend 461 posts since
    Apr 18, 2011
    1. Feb 25, 2012 1:01 PM (in response to Lochbain)
    Dogs!

I understand the concern.  I was attacked by a pack of pit-bulls late last year and it is a real danger and great concern.  Previously, I carried a legal stun gun, but it became too cumbersome on longer runs and there may be no adequate protection if one is ambushed from behind.  Still, I would say look into the various models of tasers available and consider a military/law enforcement issue type.  I had one that strapped to the waist and upper leg that was very powerful.  (Usually, the sound alone was enough to cause most dogs to retreat).