Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1490 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Oct 16, 2012 7:10 PM by Rangermom06 RSS
VanessaPadilla Rookie 1 posts since
Feb 15, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 12, 2012 10:45 AM

First time half marathon?

I just recently finished the couch to 5 k program, and my first 5k is in a little over two weeks. I am feeling great and really excited for the race! I am still kinda new at this but currently I am at 15-20 miles a week running 4/5 times a week just depending on my schedule. I would really like to do a half marathon and was wondering if January of 2013 is too soon or if it is a realistic goal? I'm not looking to break records just get across the finish line.

• Jasko123 Legend 461 posts since
    Apr 18, 2011
    1. Apr 12, 2012 4:11 PM (in response to VanessaPadilla)

I would recommend doing a lot of races and following a structured training plan for a LR schedule.  For example, 8K, and many 10K or 15K events before thinking about the half.  Honestly, the Jan. goal depends on many factors that mostly relate to your fitness level and training routine.  The half is more demanding than expected, even to just finish.  When you complete your first 5k, think about doing that exact 5k route four more times (plus one more mile) and see what type of mental and physical picture that produces in terms of future preparation.  Then you will have a better idea of the challenges. 

Wishing you all the best and many happy miles!

• Swebb0310 Amateur 21 posts since
    Apr 8, 2012
    2. Apr 12, 2012 4:39 PM (in response to VanessaPadilla)