Skip navigation

847 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Apr 25, 2012 5:18 AM by Mike_CVUA RSS
CoachTurnkey Amateur 12 posts since
Mar 5, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Apr 24, 2012 8:45 PM

Batter/runner taking second on a walk..

Minor A Little League. B1 draws a base on balls. He immediately heads towards first base, runs through the base and continues to second with an attempt at 2nd being a safe call. Does it matter if he stops then darts to 2nd base? How about if he slows down and then picks up speed after the 1st base coach directs him(“Take second, take second”). If it isn’t one continuous motion isn’t the runner required to stay on first. Minor A Little League. B1 draws a base on balls. He immediately heads towards first base, runs through the base and continues to second with an attempt at 2nd being a safe call. Does it matter if he stops then darts to 2nd base? How about if he slows down and then picks up speed after the 1st base coach directs him(“Take second, take second”). If it isn’t one continuous motion isn’t the runner required to stay on first.

  • Mike_CVUA Legend 593 posts since
    May 25, 2007
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Apr 25, 2012 5:18 AM (in response to CoachTurnkey)
    Batter/runner taking second on a walk..

    Coach:

     

    In the basic LL rules, as long as the batter-runner is gaining ground (does not matter how he modulates his speed), he is legal to attempt to gain second base regardless of whether or not the battery are set.

     

    If he reaches first base, takes a turn, and then stops, as long as the pitcher is on the rubber with the ball and the catcher is in a position to catch (does NOT have to be crouching), then the runner IS in violation of 7.13.  If the pitcher attempts a play or steps off, 7.13 is moot.

     

    What you have described is legal.

     

    Mike CVUA

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...

Legend

  • Correct Answers - 10 points
  • Helpful Answers - 7 points