Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1725 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Jul 3, 2012 9:01 PM by Billsr RSS
chefn Amateur 11 posts since
Dec 14, 2007
Currently Being Moderated

Jun 30, 2012 2:55 PM

Running pace not as good as in the past...what am I doing wrong?

I have been running 5ks for about 12 years and half marathons for about 5 years.  All of a sudden, in April and June of this year, my pace is way off. I do run during the winter, but not really on a training plan. I ran a 4k race in February and tried to run at least once or twice a week. Now, I usually pick up my training to get ready for races in July through October. However, I just ran a race in June with about 4-5 minutes over my normal time for a 5K!  Also, this past week, I attempted a 5k in Missouri (very hot) and for the first time, I felt I needed to walk and run! I did not have a major health change, no major weight gain, or anything else I can attribute this to. I just don't feel the way I used to when running. I used to not run at all in the winter and then pick up in the spring and still did not have this kind of change in pace. My goal is for a sub 10 min mile as this is where I was last year. I am no where near this now.  Should I just focus on long runs and speed work to get me back to where I should be or is  my body telling me something?  I am a female and 47 yrs old, but that really should not mean anything different. I was running my PRs last year for my entire life and now running slower than ever. Any help would be much appreciated. My current plan is adapted from Art Lieberman which has worked great gett