Skip navigation

1010 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Oct 18, 2012 8:54 AM by MicheleSwim RSS
luya Rookie 3 posts since
Feb 3, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 6, 2012 9:55 PM

How to master butterfly stroke

Hi Guys,

I want to get advice on how to master butterfly stroke which I have been strugling over several months. I watched video tutorial from youtube and read other related documentation but still I found my self far from it. Please share your expertise with me.

• MicheleSwim Rookie 4 posts since
    Oct 16, 2012
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Oct 18, 2012 8:54 AM (in response to luya)
    How to master butterfly stroke

Hi hopefully I'm not too late, I just joined. Anyway butterfly is definitely the hardes stroke to really get but once you do it is 10 times easier.

I swam competitively 14 years including 4 years in D1 college swimming. I have been teaching lessons and swim camps for about 8 years. So I have been around it all. Some of the most common mistakes in Butterfly that I see all the time are the following:

1. wrong head possition

-your body follows your head

-when you lift your head and chin forward (when on stomach) your hips and feet will go down (causes drag when not done at correct time)

-when you drop your head and chin your hips and feet will come up towards the surface

*proper head position on Butterfly: head is down and chin is tucked when not breathing, when breathing lift chin up slightly just enough to get air

2. trying to breath while your arms are out of the water

-this causes your hips and feet to drop too low and is very difficult to get your arms out of the water correctly and all the way forward (also causes drag)

*proper breathing= breath while hands are pulling under the water

-start lifting chin forward at the top of the stroke (when your hands are both in front of you extended)

-do this by pushing the water down with bent elbows for leverage