Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1396 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Jul 31, 2012 12:50 PM by JoeMarks RSS
2LulaSue Amateur 7 posts since
Jul 6, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Jul 19, 2012 7:47 PM

"Feed Me!!"

Hey all;

So, I'm new to running - my experience so far is completing W3D1 (whew!).  I do my runs late evening - 9pm or later - when it's coolest.  (And the kids are in bed and I have some blessed peace.)  Here's my question/problem:  When I get home, I'm STARVING!  Like, I feel like I could eat a whole cow (and believe me, I see them on my runs and they are SO not appetizing in person).  I realize that there's a reason I'm hungry, and while I would love to be able to curb this hunger, it's actually quite strong.  I can actually hear my stomach:  "Toolulah!  Feed me.  FEED me.  FEED ME!!!"  So I do.  Unfortunately, I feed it some not very good stuff or get over-stuffed.

So what do you eat when you're starving after a run?  What should I have on hand for a late evening snack that is filling enough, yet won't sabatoge me?

• ydiez Pro 122 posts since
    Nov 7, 2011
    1. Jul 20, 2012 1:34 AM (in response to 2LulaSue)
    "Feed Me!!"

First of all, welcome to running!