I am not affilfited with either team, but am in Arizona and still follow LL even though my kid aged out years ago.
The Arizona state championship game ended with the winning run and a play at the plate.
So... what do you say, legal slide or not?
EDIT: Sorry - I tried to embed the video clip but I failed....
If that was not ruled a head-first slide then there is no such thing as a head-first slide.
IMO--a blown call! Too bad it being a game deciding run in a championship game.
I looked for a possibility of a "trip" judgment call----and, at least from the camera's eye, saw no evidence of a "trip."
Boy, it appears some drivers were rolling the dice having parked their cars just outside the outfield fence---windshields facing home plate.
My recollection is that LL is looking for the "Superman-style" dive and imo that one doesn't qualify, though it's on the edge. I'd have ruled safe but could be convinced otherwise by our more learned members.
Thank you both for your replies. That it is debatable even in replay tells me the call is acceptable.
I used to be one of the parent umpires for younger LL games several years ago and I'd have had tha an out in a heartbeat... Hands and head were clearly out front.I thought that with the younge kids, it would be a good lesson by calling it out as it seemed head first, but do the older ones need that lesson?
But then I came back to the fact that the rule is the same for the 8's and 12's, so the call should be the same... Using that logic, I mentally stuck to the out call...
I am no real ump, though, so I wanted the "professional" opinions.
On a game note, it sounded like a heck of a game. That play actually came in the bottom of 7 after going back and forth all day. Even if the call was right, it is sad that it ended on a play that sounds like it could have gone either way.
Gotta remember what rule 7.08e #4 is all about. A kid not putting his head in harm's way by leading with it while advancing.
Do I "dare"quote the RIM.
"Any runner who does a head first slide is out at the MOMENT the umpire sees the runner go into the head first slide."
caps mine! In the visual provided, the runner's head is out in front; then, feet and legs trailing; then, left side/torso on ground "grinding" forward, BEFORE his touching home plate with extended hand. His torso's "sliding" momentum on the ground, enabling him to reach out and touch the plate with his hand.
[His "cape" "tights" and big chest "S" left behind because he failed to file a "flight plan"...never wanting it said he "took a dive."]
That's an out.
You're looking for what lead the initial motion to the plate. Hands, or feet?
I don't see why this one is even in question.
Now, I fully understand why the PU didn't call it. He's looking at the ball coming in, the positioning of F2 (for OBS), then the tag coming down. Then he sees a torso flopping in front of him, as he's watching for the glove to touch the body. What you can't tell is how the body got to the prone position, when you're watching so many other things.
But there was a four man crew, and you'd have thought one of 'em would have seen it. Guess not.
Again, thanks all for your input. To me, it was a no brainer out, but that there was even room for discussion was an eye opener... I do agree that no ump seeing it is a bit odd...
Which brings up another point on this particular issue. The local news in the winning city posted the slide, and on their facebook page asked for opinions... While most posts were cordial, there were some borderline unsportsmanlike ones on both sides....
Here is link to that news stations facebook page (you can read even if not FB member - I am not and could still see it)... Scroll down the the Little League symbol on the left, and then click on the View all XX comments link.
Amazing... Comments from players on both sides, comments from parents on both sides...
IMHO, a poor representation of what LL is all about, though I can't say what I'd do in the same situation....