Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

680 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Aug 28, 2012 2:17 PM by Jasko123
gogolegs Amateur 11 posts since
Aug 21, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Aug 28, 2012 5:48 AM

Losing steam - HELP!

Ok so I am a newbie I am in about 5 weeks of training just trying out a 3 mile I am finding on certain days I can go a whole mile and half without stopping and then the 2nd half I do about 2 min run and 1-2 min walk alternating not really going by the book just testing the waters to see how far I can run without walking - now today was very humid dealing with the effects of tropical storm Isaac early morning run I fell behind started with run at 4 min, then had to walk 2 min run 2-3 min alternating maybe only did a total of 2 miles within 30 min.  is this normal? not sure what to expect much harder this morning I felt tired waking up so not sure if it's that or on top of humidity.  I have not yet invested in a heart monitor yet that is to come I did try to pickup my speed - can someone tell me if I am on the right track if days like this happen or do I need to step back into the program and work up again--- ANY HELP/ADVISE APPRECIATED.

• Jasko123 Legend 461 posts since
    Apr 18, 2011
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Aug 28, 2012 2:17 PM (in response to gogolegs)
    Losing steam - HELP!

I think it is fine to do a walk/run routine and to just walk or do a slower pace, as necessary.  Doing 100 or 200 meters slightly faster is also beneficial, and it seems that is what you are working on including.