Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

941 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Oct 12, 2012 6:19 PM by ultimatehlth RSS
lsivak2012 Rookie 4 posts since
Sep 11, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 11, 2012 3:05 PM

Feet cramping

Hello all - i am new to running - did the C25K then just started going for distance.  I am still incredibly slow as i am a big girl and am now jogging at the 2 mi + mark.  Thing is, I run in the early mornings and i have stopped taking water with me and am getting some foot cramps so am wondering if its due to the lack of water.  And if so, how much should i drink before i go and how long before I go?

I do stop at a water fountain for a couple of drinks, but this morning it didnt seem to help my feet.

Thanks for any input!

Laura

• Jasko123 Legend 461 posts since
    Apr 18, 2011
    1. Sep 11, 2012 3:26 PM (in response to lsivak2012)
    Feet cramping

Hi Laura,

You may want to consider a sports drink or water with electrolytes and/or other added nutrients.  Potassium is very important to prevent cramping, for example.  Also, take a close look at your shoes and socks...try compression wear and make sure that you are walking at least 5-10 minutes before and after your running.