Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1946 Views 7 Replies Latest reply: Jan 8, 2013 9:40 PM by crl8686 RSS
BradenMommyof5 Pro 176 posts since
Jan 4, 2010
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 11, 2012 8:54 PM

Running pants/sweats for COLD weather??

Okay, not "Alaska" cold, but cold enough to bundle up!

I live in a high desert area and am needing some running pants that'll keep me warm in cold temps...we'll say around 32 degrees - I'm not sure if I'm brave enough to run when it's below freezing outside!  ha ha

I'm fairly new to running and I don't want to break the bank.  Does anyone have any suggestions, favorite brands, or favorite features you'd recommend?

Thanks!

Jenn

Jenn / BradenMommyof5

<//><

• Rich in NH Legend 850 posts since
    Dec 10, 2007
    1. Nov 13, 2012 5:21 AM (in response to BradenMommyof5)
    Re: Running pants/sweats for COLD weather??

At 32 degrees, you should be able to get by with just running tights for your legs.  All the major brands sell them and I'm guessing they're less money than running pants.

Gloves for your hands and an unlined windbreaker will come in handy as well.  If you buy a windbreaker, be sure to buy one with a full length zipper, you can use the zipper to help control body temperature if you start to heat up.

For me, just one tech shirt under the windbreaker works fine at your temps.  Lastly, a hat will help keep you warm also.

Good luck!

Enjoy life, this ain't a rehearsal...

• Jasko123 Legend 461 posts since
    Apr 18, 2011
    2. Nov 12, 2012 2:17 PM (in response to BradenMommyof5)
    Re: Running pants/sweats for COLD weather??