Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

708 Views 2 Replies Latest reply: Dec 2, 2012 1:30 PM by Jasko123 RSS
JillHawes Rookie 1 posts since
Apr 3, 2012
Currently Being Moderated

Nov 30, 2012 6:55 AM

Half Marathon a week away: ITBS and Ego

This is my first time training for a half marathon- all had been going extremely well up till 2 weeks ago.  I don't know exactly what was the source of the cause of my IT band issues, but I have a feeling a big part of it was breaking in a new (same model as old) pair of running shoes on a hilly 10 mile run.  Stupid.  At mile 8 I had to walk my outer knee and thigh hurt so bad.  I have been cross training, icing, taking anti-inflamitory and foam rolling the S out of this leg for the last 2 weeks.

I have since returned those new shoes and decided to just continue my training in the old pair.  Well, today was the test to see if it had healed at all.  I decided I was going to aim for 8 miles, but stop if there was pain.  I ran really slow, like 13.30 min miles and by mile 3 the discomfort slowly started coming back.  I kept going for about another half mile and it just got worse, to the point of the same pain I felt 2 weeks ago.  I stopped running immediately, but my ego and dreams of running my first half are in shambles.  I don't know what to do at this point as the race is next Saturday and I know for damn sure I'm not going to be able to run the full 13.1.