Why is umpire Angel Hernandez always awarded playoff slots when he's been involved with almost ALL of the really badly blown calls this year?
Friday night, Orioles game. O's batter has 2--2 count with 2 out.
Pitch comes in low. Batter swings and.......well, Angel rules a foul. Ball gets away. F2 picks it up and treats it like a U3K and throws to first.
After a review with the other umps (NOT a replay), Angel rules Batter out on a properly executed U3K; says the batter missed the ball completely. YGTBSM! Once you call foul, you can't UN-FOUL it!
Yeah he blew the judgement, but now the ball is dead and no outs can be recorded. O's manager complained as much! He was tossed, but he said once you call foul, that's it!
I tend to agree, and Angel owes the O's an apology! He blew the mechanics six-ways to Sunday!