Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

54408 Views 97 Replies Latest reply: Nov 29, 2013 6:17 PM by Mikey A RSS 1 2 3 ... 7 Previous Next
Mikey A Expert 46 posts since
Jul 24, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 18, 2013 5:30 PM

"Tired Heavy Legs"

So, this is my first time attempting to run any kind of distance I am a 50+ yo healthy male who has never enjoyed running long distance, I am an avid walker with a 14 min mile pace and just recently began to run a full mile without walking, (I have never been able to run even 1 full mile without slowing to a walk to stop cramping or shortness of breath).  The toughest part is that my legs feel tired and heavy quickly upon starting and then it messes with my breathing, I just started to listen to music while running and that really seems to help (I guess it distracts me from thinking about my legs and breathing).  I have decided to train for a 5K race set in October and plan to train using the couch to 5k program.  Any advise on how to keep my legs feeling fresh would be appreciated.  Thanks. 

• Loreen79 Rookie 1 posts since
    Dec 5, 2011
    1. Jul 24, 2013 11:27 PM (in response to Mikey A)
    Tired heavy legs

I'm amased because despite the fact that you are 50+ but still able to run. I can only advice you to do basic stretching before starting to run. Then, you also mentioned listening to music while you are running help you somehow. It is because your mind is focus on music and not on worrying that your legs might get tired. Its mind over body. Try not to worry about your leg when you are running.

• justamaniac Pro 180 posts since