Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

887 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Sep 23, 2013 3:52 PM by LStanhope RSS
SarahBlumenshine Rookie 3 posts since
Aug 17, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 20, 2013 9:46 PM

Fatigue Issues

Hello All -

Hoping you will have some suggestions for me.  I am a newbie runner, recently finished the C25k, been running a total of 2.5 months.  Prior to the C25k it had been a couple of years since I had exercised regularly.  I ran my first 5k race a week ago and have been trying to keep up a routine of 8 or 9 miles a week over three runs.  The problem is, my body is SO TIRED.  I even feel it going up the stairs in my house - my quads burn.  There was a time during the buildup to 5k that I felt great...like I could have just kept running even when my 2 or 3 miles were up.  But since about a week prior to the race, I have just been gutting my runs out and now that the race is over, I am struggling with motivation.  Should I taper off the mileage for a week or two?  Or should I try to push through it?  Any tips for how I can get to the next step would be very helpful.  Thanks!

• shipo Legend 447 posts since
    Aug 9, 2013
    1. Sep 21, 2013 7:39 AM (in response to SarahBlumenshine)
    Fatigue Issues

Have you been timing your runs?  I ask because you might be running faster than you realize and too fast for your level of conditioning.

• lenzlaw Community Moderator 10,327 posts since
    Jan 18, 2008
    2. Sep 21, 2013 7:49 AM (in response to shipo)
    Fatigue Issues