Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1992 Views 3 Replies Latest reply: Nov 4, 2013 6:31 AM by KellieRizer RSS
Lindsey Cobb Rookie 1 posts since
Apr 6, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

Oct 16, 2013 7:50 AM

Shoe Advise?

Hello everyone!

I am new to the running/jogging thing and I started reasearching good shoes. WOW is it overwhelming!

I wanted to ask those of you who have also just started to seasoned marathoners about what shoe they recommend?

I know everyone is different and I assure you I will take this into consideration when finally purchasing a pair, however some help to narrow down the selctions would be GREATLY appreciated!

A little about me:

5' 6'' - approximately 200lbs

VERY beginner jogger/walking

I have no problem investing in a pair of shoes that are expensive as long as they work well for me

I have high arches so support is a MUST

I have signed up for quite a few 5k run/walk that are specifically labeled for beginners to seasoned runners so I do not over exert myself. But I want to start off how I intend to go, which is why I really want to invest in good quality sneakers from the get-go.

I really appreciate all of the advise anyone can give me!

Happy running!

-Lins

• SeeFluffyRun Legend 251 posts since
    Sep 2, 2009
    1. Oct 16, 2013 7:57 AM (in response to Lindsey Cobb)
    Shoe Advise?