Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1045 Views 5 Replies Latest reply: Feb 28, 2014 7:16 AM by BOSNPM
BKAustinred Rookie 1 posts since
Feb 23, 2014
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 23, 2014 1:02 PM

What to eat after run?

Hi, I'm new to running. What is a good thing to eat before and after a run? Carbs, protein or a combination? Thanks!

• lenzlaw Community Moderator 10,431 posts since
    Jan 18, 2008
    1. Feb 23, 2014 1:56 PM (in response to BKAustinred)
    What to eat after run?

If you normally eat a good, nutritious, balanced diet, you don't need to do anything special before or after an average run.  You don't have to be concerned until you get into much longer or harder workouts.

Len

• shipo Legend 499 posts since
    Aug 9, 2013
    2. Feb 26, 2014 8:14 AM (in response to BKAustinred)
    What to eat after run?

My general rule of thumb is eat what your body wants, errr, of course within limits.  It seems like in the winter time my body wants asparagus and either chili or BBQed chicken thighs, but in the summer time, especially after a long run on a hot humid day, my body wants milk and cookies.  In the spring and fall, beer looks especially good after a run. 

Fat old man PRs:

• 1-mile (point to point, gravity assist): 5:50
    • 2-mile: 13:49
    • 5K (gravity assist last mile): 21:31
    • 5-Mile: 37:24
    • 10K (first 10K of my Half Marathon): 48:16
    • 10-Mile (first 10 miles of my Half Marathon): 1:17:40
    • Half Marathon: 1:42:13
  • Julie Ann Hackett Legend 228 posts since
    Nov 20, 2007
    3. Feb 26, 2014 1:07 PM (in response to BKAustinred)