Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

1398 Views 9 Replies Latest reply: Feb 28, 2014 11:11 PM by Chuck1945
Frozenfury777 Rookie 2 posts since
Jan 21, 2014
Currently Being Moderated

Feb 27, 2014 12:44 PM

New runner, started C25K and suffering lots of shin/ankle pain, maybe bad technique?

I'm new to this whole running thing and it hasn't gone all that well for me, so I'm seeking some advice. 

Since some of my friends started C25k, I've tried joining them and have restarted the program several times, but keep having too much pain after about week 2. My shins end up hurting a lot as well as my ankles, and I couldn't really figure out what I was doing wrong since everyone I knew kept telling me that running should be easy and not painful like I was encountering. I'm not too terribly overweight (215 lbs at 6'2") so it isn't a weight issue like one of my other friends was having at 300 lbs, at least as far as I can tell.

I don't really have any running experience in the past. I played some little league baseball when i was a kid, and then a little bit of intramural basketball in high school. The activity i did the longest was some martial arts all the way up from 4th grade through freshman year of college. But I never really did any sports where you learn how to run effectively/correctly, so it is possible that I just might have never learned how to do it right.