Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

209 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Mar 27, 2014 8:59 AM by JamesJohnsonLMT RSS
Troy Huot Rookie 1 posts since
May 31, 2009
Currently Being Moderated

Mar 26, 2014 11:07 AM

Knee Arthritis

I have been running for over 20 years.  But now have arthritis in my right knee.  I have had two surgeries on the knee in 2007 and last October both for torn meniscus.  Since, my surgery in October (in hindsight I wish I never had)I have been barely able to run.  I had a cortisone shot in February which has helped some.  I am contemplating running the Boston Marathon which I have done for the past 18 years in a row.  Last year I ran the race in 3:20 but know I am not sure if I can run under 6 hours. I don't mind running slow but don't want to make my knee any worse.  I was thinking of getting the gel injections but not sure if that will help.  I am able to walk with no pain but as soon as I start running no matter how slow I go after a couple of miles my knee hurts.  I have exercised a lot on the Nautilus machine and elliptical machine but the knee pain always returns when running. I have tried running with a knee brace but that doesn't help.  Anyone have experience running with knee arthritis or with gel injections?  Any ideas on how I can get back to the joy of running?

• JamesJohnsonLMT Legend 1,160 posts since
    Aug 23, 2009
    Currently Being Moderated
    1. Mar 27, 2014 8:59 AM (in response to Troy Huot)
    Re: Knee Arthritis