Skip navigation
Community: Exchange advice in the forums and read running commentary Resources: Personal running log, calculators, links and other tools for runners News: Running news from around the world Training: Articles and advice about fitness, race training and injury prevention Races/Results: Find upcoming races and past results Home: The Cool Running homepage
Cool Running homepage  Search Cool Running Community

387 Views 1 Reply Latest reply: Jun 5, 2014 7:13 PM by JamesJohnsonLMT RSS
DebAnderson317 Rookie 1 posts since
Mar 31, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

May 21, 2014 8:57 AM

very tight calf muscle leads to lateral collateral ligament issue...why

I am relatively new to running, just 1.5 years.    I trained for 14 weeks for a half marathon and it went great!!!   The Monday prior to the race, I used an elliptical for cross training for 45 minutes.   Hadnt been on an elliptical for awhile, but felt good.   The next day my calf muscles were very sore and the course of a few days got so tender I could barely walk or touch them.  The half was on Saturday, it went very well, i felt strong and very happy with my time.   My right knee started to hurt after the race and I have figured it out to be the lateral collateral ligament (not the it band).   I can only figure it has something to do with the tight calves,

Fast forward, i have a half this weekend and my knee is bugging again.   I have been off it, icing, and using electo stim on it for the past 3 days.    Now for the true question :-)  i haven't run nor done additional exercise and the right calf is becoming very tight again.   I am confused why.   Any ideas?  I enjoy running now and want to keep it up.   This is the first of hurts for me.   I use rhythmic breathing and read about techniques to improve. I also use strenght training in my training, full body Les Mills body pump.

Greatly appreciate any insights

Deb

• JamesJohnsonLMT Legend 1,146 posts since
    Aug 23, 2009